Horrible camera

vevs Post time 2015-7-29 03:28:31 | Show all posts [Copy link]
68 14547
Author: vevs

Horrible camera

[Copy link]

3

threads

19

posts

95

credits

Senior Member

Rank: 2

credits
95
Post time 2015-7-28 23:03:17 | Show all posts
Edited by nananaRev at 2015-7-29 01:10 \n\n
Clone_Tekboy replied at 2015-7-28 22:54
I believe it is the image compression. At first I thought it was the sharpen filter (because it look ...

if you go in EngineerMode > Hardware Testing > Camera | ISO speed > untap AUTO and NONE and select the ISO 3200 you'll get the result (PREVIEW) which are begin used as default.
Issue is; even on NONE the file shooted stored in DCIM/CameraEM are exibiting such artifacts.
So, it's like there no hardware profile for the sensor current (staged ISO).


--
Just guessing.


13

threads

50

posts

240

credits

Platinum Member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

credits
240

UMIDIGIerDie-Hard UMIDIGI Fans

Post time 2015-7-28 23:14:10 | Show all posts
Clone_Tekboy replied at 2015-7-28 22:54
I believe it is the image compression. At first I thought it was the sharpen filter (because it look ...

as you said work on the Sharpen and ISO settings can improve the results regards the compression we will talk about it to our team that is working hard on the camera improvement ;)

0

threads

2

posts

36

credits

New Member

Rank: 1

credits
36
Post time 2015-7-28 23:21:38 | Show all posts
Hi,
To shoot in RAW, have you tried the FV-5 app ?
The built in app seems to add really too much compression artifacts ...

2

threads

29

posts

110

credits

Senior Member

Rank: 2

credits
110
Post time 2015-7-29 00:24:22 | Show all posts
nananaRev replied at 2015-7-28 23:03
Edited by nananaRev at 2015-7-28 23:29 \n\n

if you go in EngineerMode > Hardware Testing > Camera  ...

Sounds logical.  Does this mean changing the "Driving Current Camera" could potentially result in less noise? Just a random shot in the dark here. I'm afraid to try changing that for fear of damaging my phone (I'm not really bugged by the camera quality, personally). I tried to take some RAW images, but I couldn't open them in anything for the life of me. They were purple in android apps, and I can't seem to load them into Photoshop CS5.

0

threads

2

posts

36

credits

New Member

Rank: 1

credits
36
Post time 2015-7-29 00:55:24 | Show all posts
Edited by Charlie at 2015-7-29 01:03 \n\n@Clone_Tekboy

I tried to take some RAW images, but I couldn't open them in anything for the life of me. They were purple in android apps, and I can't seem to load them into Photoshop CS5.

May I ask you to send me the samples raw stills ?
Thanks

3

threads

19

posts

95

credits

Senior Member

Rank: 2

credits
95
Post time 2015-7-29 01:27:43 | Show all posts
Edited by nananaRev at 2015-7-29 02:43 \n\n
Clone_Tekboy replied at 2015-7-29 00:24
Sounds logical.  Does this mean changing the "Driving Current Camera" could potentially result in  ...

IDK if the setting does something, altho, it should increase the mA OF something (counterproductive).
Never had any MTK device before, and I got this 3 or 4 day ago.
On mine libcameracustom.so SENSOR_DRVNAME expose: OV8858 and GC2755.
I'm not sure about the VOL in use by these sensor, cause, I have no access to the kernel source and no time for disassembly the phone to check out, also, unless there an update today late, I'm gonna send it back to amazon tomorrow cause I can't fix it by mineself and I'm realistic, so, I'm NOT keeping a device which shoot bad copy of google deep dream.

2

threads

29

posts

110

credits

Senior Member

Rank: 2

credits
110
Post time 2015-7-29 02:04:21 | Show all posts
Charlie replied at 2015-7-29 00:55
Edited by Charlie at 2015-7-29 01:03 \n\n@Clone_Tekboy

Here's the link:
download

It's almost like the image is corrupt? I don't remember what ISO setting I was on, but the accompanying jpg didn't look like this for any of them. I cleared out the CameraEM folder since, so if you want a JPG and RAW I'd have to take some more pictures.

3

threads

19

posts

95

credits

Senior Member

Rank: 2

credits
95
Post time 2015-7-29 03:01:42 | Show all posts
Edited by nananaRev at 2015-7-29 03:03 \n\n
Clone_Tekboy replied at 2015-7-29 02:04
Here's the link:
download



That's the best out of it w/o the proprietary software.
There already compression artifacts and missing info all around.

6

threads

67

posts

313

credits

Platinum Member

Rank: 3Rank: 3

credits
313
Post time 2015-7-29 03:22:04 From the mobile phone | Show all posts
Use whatsapp camera and photos are better than stock camera, why?

3

threads

19

posts

95

credits

Senior Member

Rank: 2

credits
95
Post time 2015-7-29 03:28:31 | Show all posts
cloudvdr replied at 2015-7-29 03:22
Use whatsapp camera and photos are better than stock camera, why?

You should seriusly double check it, or post a picture, cause the underlying hardware does not change from app to app.
1234567Next
You have to log in before you can reply Login | WELCOME TO UMIDIGI COMMUNITY

Points Rules

Quick Reply Top Back to list